top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Don't Worry. I Will Provide. Go and Live!


Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

-Psalm 37:4

In life we tend to get busy with the day to day tasks: going to school, going to your 9-5, taking care of the kids, paying your bills, etc. We get wrapped up in the mundane tasks of life that we forget to actually live out life. In one of my previous blogs, "I'm 24 Now... What Am I Doing With My Life" (click the picture to take you to the blog) I talk abut some goals I have for myself to keep going in life and to make life more exciting and worthwhile. If we do not have anything to look forward to, we often lose sight on our purpose and why God placed us here on this earth. If you are anything like me, and over analyze situations, when an extraordinary opportunity arises, such as a trip for instance, we tend to not take advantage of it. We begin to make up fears and justify them as reasons to not go: who's going to do this if I'm gone, how will I pay for it, what if I don't get back in time, etc. Then we hear a still small voice saying "don't worry. I will provide. Go and live!"


Last weekend I had the amazing opportunity to go to Washington DC. My dad had a business trip there and asked if I wanted to go. I said no at first until I realized my mom, sister, and brother-in-law were all going. *Side note: I am not one for quick trips. If i cannot take 3-4 days to relax, I usually will not go. Plus, on my return, I want to get back in ample time in case there are flight delays or any other unexpected circumstances.* On this trip I would be leaving Friday at 10pm and returning on MONDAY at 12:30pm!! Yes! Monday! Then I would have to drive from the airport, into work. Mind you, DC time is 3 hours ahead of California. So, because I analyze to the point of no return, I decided to turn down the offer.

Over the next few weeks I felt a constant battle within me of "should I stay or should I go? What do you have to lose if you go? What will you gain by going?" I really wanted to go to DC because I had never been before. On the other hand, I didn't want to miss work or have a quick turn around to where I would be too tired (lame excuse, I know). I realized I would be in California, by myself, while my whole family is in Washington DC. I began to feel a still small voice telling me, "Meghan, Don't worry. I will provide. Go and live!" Once I realized it was the voice of God, I told my dad that I wanted to go to Washington DC. (I told him on Monday... The trip was planned for Friday. Thank you Lord for my patient father! lol)

Nonetheless, we went to Washington DC! Do you guys know what happened? I had one of the best times in my life! While my sister and mom were shopping (I not much of a shopper) my dad and I took a nice long stroll to the National Mall. I was able to see The White House, City Hall, Washington Monument, World War 2 Memorial, and the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial. I was in awe! I couldn't help but tear up. It was our nation's history! I saw where I came from and how my American history began. The people that fought and died for my freedom in America. Regardless of political stance, religion, if you agree or disagree with who is in The White House, Washington DC is something every American needs to see. To see EVERYONE'S history all in one area is so beautiful. Especially as a Black American, to see the National African American Museum's location, directly across the street from the Washington Monument, it shows how far this country has come with the racial injustice, but a reminder of how much we still have yet to go and to heal.

I could not help but praise God for this experience. My Father in heaven brought me to D.C. to show me that He will provide for me if I let Him. When I stop trying to control my life and give Him a chance, He will give me the best opportunity. Sure it may be tumultuous ride (turbulence was no joke and having 12 hours of sleep in 4 days isn't great) but the knowledge, experience, and memories that you gain are worth it! Take a chance! It maybe the best experience of your life!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page