top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Welcome Harper Adalynn Dupree!


"When a woman is giving birth, she has sorrow because her hour has come, but when she has delivered the baby, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world." -John 16:21

Children are the biggest blessing ever. One week ago we had the God truly blessed our family with our first granddaughter/niece/great-granddaughter.

Side note: I was going to write a detailed story about my sister's labor and delivery but then I had to stop and think, "I'm telling someone else's story... She may not want her business out there like that!" You're welcome Morgan! :-)

So, anyway! I never realized the love I would have for someone I don't even know. Though I am not a mom, that child is part of me... Let alone she actually looks more like me when I was an infant than when my sister was an infant. But that's besides the point!

Though I could not be there in person to witness the birth, my sister put me on FaceTime and I got to see the entire thing. The pain, the contractions, the anguish. To watch my sister go through that, I couldn't help but cry. I was extremely proud of her as well as slightly anxious. I wanted to be there to hold her hand. I wanted to help take away some of that pain, yet it is crucial for the delivery process. Just like God, He has to watch us go through many trials and tribulations and labor pains, yet the end result is joyous! (James 1:2-4). Of course we would love and painless labor and delivery, but thanks to Eve, that's not the case. :-)

After hours of labor, the most beautiful child came into my life. When I saw her I just cried! Her innocence and helplessness is a reflection of us. As I look at her, she helps me to see the goodness and faithfulness of God. He loves us unconditionally. We will spit up, cry, and blow out our diaper, yet Christ still loves us and was willing to sacrifice His life so we can spend eternity with Him. Ain't that love!?

We don't deserve His love and grace yet He free gives it to us. He saw us in our infancy and helped us grow into men and women of faith. The older we get the more we lose our trust in others as well as God because of hurts and pains. When I look at my niece, I pray to become more like her. She is reliant on mommy and daddy to be there for her as we should be with God. There’s no way she can fend for herself at this stage of life. We have to realize, without God, we cannot survive as well.

"Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” -Matthew 18:3

It is so important to humble ourselves and realize we need our Father in EVERY aspect of life. Put ourselves in the shoes (or diapers) of a newborn. What can they do without the help of others? Are they able to change their own diapers or feed themselves? As we get older and we become more capable of taking care of ourselves without as much assistance from others. In doing so, we tend to forget how much we need to rely on God to still take care of us. We want to do it all on our own and make our own decisions. Without realizing it, we have forgotten that we once relied on Him. I want you to really sit and ponder on ways you have gone ahead of God and not let Him do His job in your life. Is that with a job, a relationship/friendships, college, schools, organizations, church? How about involving Him in every day tasks like, should I eat this today or wear this? How should I style my hair? These seem small and minute yet, God want's to be in charge of it ALL! If you don't believe me, ask Him for yourself! He wants to be Lord and ruler over your life! Do you know what that means/ do you truly want Him to?

I challenge you to begin having a faith like a child, relying and trusting God in everything you do.

I hope you all had a great September! I’ll try to get these blogs out a little quicker. Before I realize it, it’s already the end of the month!! Have a great day and I will see y’all later!

BBYYYEEE!!!

~Meghan A. Harper

Heavenly Father,

I pray for you to humble us and gives us a child-like faith. Help us to see how much we need you and cannot live without your grace, mercy and love. Help us to not take that for granted. I pray for you to increase our faith and trust in you through our trials. I love you and I’m so grateful for you!

In Jesus/Yeshua’s name,

AMEN!!!


Harper Adalynn Dupree; Sept. 22, 2018


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page