top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Focus on God


Hey you guys. I hop you're doing well!

As I was writing a blog just to hurry up and put up, I realized I was getting stressed. I have a lot to do within the next few days and I just wish there was one more day in the week to do it! Has anyone else ever felt that way?

I'm getting ready for my dance concert, I have to work 9am-6pm, then go to school and do homework, and other church obligations that I have. After a while you can become very overwhelmed. This is almost very similar to my previous post in allowing yourself to say "No", however, I'm letting you know what happens when you don't' say no! lol

I have literally started writing 3 different blog posts, and adding to each and then I just closed my eyes and felt the Holy Spirit tell me to "relax". I'm sitting here stressing over things that are unnecessary to stress over.

When I start getting anxious and overwhelmed I turn to the infamous anxiety bible verse:

"Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God."

- Philip. 4:6

That verse in itself is very powerful, however, we miss the rest of that passage that is equally as powerful.

Verse 4 starts off by saying,

"Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!"

When was the last time you rejoiced and gave God praise? Rejoice because of where He has brought you from? Rejoice because He has a plan for your life! Rejoice because He loves you despite all of your flaws, imperfections, and how many times we have wronged Him.

Verse 5:

"Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near."

How you act or think, is it a reflection of God? Are you loud, the center of attention and do stuff so people can always compliment you? Do you instead have a quiet and gentle spirit?

Then after that is says:

"Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." (verse 6 & 7)

Once you have learned to praise God, and act like He is in your life, it becomes easier to not be anxious. When we are spending time with God and praising His Holy name, we will come to realize that God can take away our anxieties, worries, fears, etc. We will be able to see His transforming power within our lives. When we allow Him to take control of what has us in bondage, He will be able to protect from whatever Satan throws our way.

One of the biggest mistakes we make is telling God all of problems, worries, etc. and what we want Him to do, yet, we never give Him praise! When was the last time you praise God before you asked him to take something away from your life?

Does that make sense?

So as you go about your week and you begin to feel anxious ask yourself:

-Have I praised God?

-Do I act like I have God living within me?

-Am I allowing God to remove negativity/things that are not of Him, from my life? Am I holding onto these things because they're comfortable or familiar?

Have a great week and I will talk to you guys soon! (obviously because we only have 4 more days left of this month!) :-O

Ok! BBYYYEEE!!

Dear Lord,

I praise your name! You truly are holy and worthy of every minute of our day. Help us to see that our anxieties can be caused by lack of focus on You. Remove anything from our life that is blocking our vision of You. I love you and thank you for redeeming and healing me. I love you!

-In Jesus/Yeshua's name,

Amen!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page