top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

You are More Important Than The Back Burner


Good day everyone!

Can you believe it is the last day of August?! Where did the time fly? But hey! I’m still maintaining my goal of 2-3 posts per month! Well it’s been more like 2, but that’s worlds of a difference from before! 😊

So I just wanted to come by here as we are entering Fall to free some people of this bondage. People ask us do things all the time, correct? At times you want to do it for them because you care about the person or you don't want to feel like you're letting them down. Then there are other times when we want to get involved in our community or lend a helping hand. After a while we realize we are stretching ourselves too thin and become overwhelmed. Well I came by to tell you... "SAY NO!!!"

"WHHAATT? Isn't telling people "no" rude or inconsiderate? That doesn't seem like we are loving our neighbor very nicely." Well the commandment is "love you neighbor as yourself" (Matt. 22: 39) How are you able to love someone effectively if you are not taking care of yourself properly.

We are so busy running around doing everything that we tend to put ourselves on the back burner. Think of food that is placed on the back burner. It's usually hard to reach and a little unsafe to get to because of the food you are maneuvering around on the front of the stove. After a while it make become neglected and could burn. What is the usefulness of burnt food? Depending on the food, burnt food can actually be harmful and toxic to us and we are not able to ingest it. So if we as children of the Holy God place ourselves on the back burner, and we burn out, what benefit do we have to the body of Christ?

I can definitely attest to this! Over the last few weeks I have been extremely busy; hence why it's the last day of August and I'm finally writing my 2nd blog of the month. I'm involved in a few ministries at church, working full time, teaching dance, and I've been traveling so much! It is a lot! I found my anxiety rising up and me on the verge of a breakdown. I had to step back and realize, what can I take a break from in the season? Once I realized I have the power to say no and that the world will not come crashing down, I became so at ease.

God wants us to be effective for His kingdom and what He has called us to do. If we continuously over involve ourselves then what room do we give Him to work within us?

So today, make a check list of things that you are in or have made a commitment towards. After that list is made, PRAY! God will give you the wisdom and discernment to make the decision or what to let go of and what to hold on to. Whether that is you cannot attend a wedding, you cannot watch your neighbor's dog for 5 days, or even change your job... (that's for another day). Pray about it. Open your bible for clarity. Once you have done that, THEN make your decision.

I pray you all have a great weekend. Don't forget to take of yourself and RELAX!

Dear Lord,

I pray for whoever is reading this that you give them the strength to say no. Help them see that you have a plan and purpose for their life. The things they may be in could be hindering what You have for their life. I pray for Your peace to fill their hearts and that they have no feelings of guilt. Give the wisdom, guidance, and protection.

In Jesus/Yeshua's name,

AMEN!!!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page