top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Live Colorfully -Kate Spade




Color is POWERFUL! Being surrounded by certain colors can either evoke feelings of rage and anger or it can relax and calm us. I took a look at this article by Freshome, and it described how the color of a room tells a lot about your personality as well as affecting your mood and thoughts. Take a look at it! It’s quite interesting.

Purple has been my favorite color for as long as I can remember. I believe it stemmed from my childhood obsession with a giant magical purple dinosaur who sang songs to get me to clean up my room. It could be because my birthday is in February and the birthstone is amethyst.

Wait. Side note: I actually didn't know my birthstone color until I was like 6 or 7 which is well after my love for purple began. I just thought "Oh! I like purple because it's my birthstone!" I thought it was how everyone was born; your favorite color is also your birthstone. Then I realized, everyone else's favorite color was not their birthstone. Alright! Back to the normal program. ☺️

So fast forward to when I was 11 years old, I had the privilege of choosing my own room colors. I of course chose purple! Well, I also added a little green in there too. Now, 13 years later, all I see is an 11 year old's design for what she thought a cute bedroom would look like. I'm 24 now! Aren't these colors a little childish? Shouldn't I do something a little more calming and adult-like?

Accompanied with my purple obsession, from a young age I've had a vibrant, colorful, and bubbly personality. Even in the womb my mom said I was jumping and moving all over the place! I wake up in the morning with nice loud "GOOD MORNING!" and with a smile on my face. Turn on some music and me, myself, and I will have a dance party in the middle of anywhere! Yes. ANYWHERE! Though people compliment me on my joyous personality, a lot of times I hate it. I think it makes me weird and annoying towards others, which it can. I’m accidentally too loud. I talk a too much at times. I get frustrated and think "why do I have to be this way? Why am I so extra and loud? Why can't I be quiet? Why can't I just be normal?" In the same breath, it is what makes me unique! It is how I was created. And besides, what's normal anyways?!


Stick with me, I'm going somewhere with this! LOL!!!

If you take a look at my blog page and Instagram, you can see it is beginning to look more colorful and bright. I tried to do the monochromatic design with the Seattle, Washington color scheme filters (y'all know what I'm talking about). That definitely works for some people! It can look very calming and sophisticated. But, that ain't me! After struggling with finding the best layout and color schemes, trying to edit photos and all this craziness, I felt the Father telling me "I made you colorful!"

Jeremiah 1:5 says:

"Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born, I set you apart."

God made different colors for a reason. We have green grass and blue skies. When something that is usually a specific color is not that color, brown grass or grey skies, it’s a sign that something is abnormal, unhealthy, or that a storm is coming. We are uniquely designed in a way that God wants to use us to display His love and spread His truth. When we are living contrary to how God designed us, it opens the door for the devil to creates anxiety, sadness, frustration and confusion within us. We begin to compair ourselves to others and get upset we weren’t created that way. But just think, why isn’t there blue grass or green skies? It’s not how God designed it! I had to realize that I am able to reach a different audience that other people cannot and visa versa. My energetic personally is just what someone may need in that very moment. On the other hand, someone’s calm and peaceful personality is what someone else may need. In this world filled with darkness, despair, wickedness, people need to see the love of God, however He designed you to display it.

I chose this title/picture for a reason. Fashion designer, Kate Spade, coined this term "live colorfully" for the launch of one of her fragrance lines. The heartbreaking truth of Mrs. Spade is as she promoted others to live colorfully, happy, and filled with joy, she herself was not living that way. As a result, she took her life on June 5, 2018.

As followers of the Messiah it is our job to display His love, sacrifice, and joy. There will be times when we aren't feeling our best, when we are depressed, anxious, etc. I'm not saying to put on a happy face when in reality all you want to do is cry. (If you do feel that way, please tell a trust worthy person. Don’t believe your thoughts that no one understands you. We are all here supporting and loving you though this). If you are feeling that way, you can relate to a non-believer who is going through a similar predicament and show them God’s love and faithfulness through times of despair. Everyone, don't lose sight of what God has instilled in you and how He has created YOU. Don’t forget your are the child of a king and He has great purpose for your life and how He wants to use you! Be COLORFUL!

Be the vibrant RED to get people excited.

Be the calming BLUE that can bring peace.

Be the energizing ORANGE to get the day started.

Be the neutral GRAY to bring wisdom

Be the creative PURPLE to show people how to live outside the box, especially as an adult. :-)

Honestly, I'm not sure if any of this is making any sense, because I tried to do something super poetic. I may have gone out of my color zone for this one y'all hahaha 🙃😉

But if you don't get anything else from this, all I’m saying is live with the love of God in your heart. Don’t be afraid or ashamed to display His love and spread the gospel and the healing power of Jesus Christ/Yeshua Messiah. How we all display God’s love is different depending on our personalities, what we are going through in life, and how God wants us to show His love in that moment. While some people may be mellow and calm, others, like myself, can be a firecracker of energy. The world needs both! Most importantly, God needs both! We are all to live colorfully for the kingdom of God! Let Him use you how He created you.

If you have questions or want prayer let me know!! Love y’all. Bbyyyeee!

Dear Lord,

I pray whoever is reading this does not get discouraged. Give them peace and comfort. Help them to stand boldly and display your love and your hope for redemption. Give them confidence however You created them. Show them they have a purpose. Thank you for making us all unique and different. Thank you for making us colorful.

In Jesus name,

Amen

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page