top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Goals need to be SMART



Hey y'all! I hope those goals are going well!

If you are stuck creating goals, I hope I can help!

When making a goal for yourself here are some goals to not create:

"I will lose 20 pounds in 1 week"

"I will get an A in this class" when the semester ends in a week and all of you have gotten D's on everything and the teacher gives no extra credit. 😑

"I will be married with children by age 25" when you are 24.🙈

Now why are these bad? They are unrealistic! Some are physically impossible/unhealthy and another relies on other people too much to make your goal happen. When this happens we will become defeated and lose confidence because we were not able to achieve those goals.

So why SMART? SMART is an acronym for:

Specific (The overarching end result)

Measurable (using numbers and can see the progress)

Attainable (it’s not too hard to complete)

Realistic (It is based off of you, not anyone else AND it lines up with God’s plan for your life. It should also give you a challenge but not too difficult to where it is impossible to achieve.)

Time-dependant (How much time do you need to complete the goal?)

So when creating a goal, be smart!

An example of a goal would be for me become a certified exercise physiologist. Now, how do I make it smart?

S: Take my ExPhys test this year

M: Getting an 80% or higher on all practice tests I take. See how long it takes to complete each test.

A: Studying for an hour each day. If you need a tutor, get one! Take the practice tests. Go over the each question to see if you understand why the answer is what it is.

R: Already have an ExPhys degree so the material is a refresher. It is not anything new that I am learning.

T: By August 10, 2018

So, the goal, when written out will say

“I will take my ExPhys certification test by August 10, 2018 by studying an hour each day and utilizing practice materials and other resources provided to ensure I pass the exam.”

Boom!!! And you know what, IT IS SCARY!! We don’t want to have things set in stone because “something better may come up” or “what if I’m not ready”. When you write it down, it holds you accountable for completing the goal.

We have to continue to reach our purpose every day. God truly has a plan for us. We are so afraid to take the next steps because we don’t want to fail or embarrass ourselves. If we do fail (if I don’t pass the test) it’s not the end of the world!! He will give you another chance to get it right! It’s ok!!

So, what are some goals you have for your life? Start off with something small to get you in the habit of making goals and achieving them. It will also help you stay motivated and encouraged that you can achieve your goals.

Example:

I will make my bed every day this week.

S: Making the bed every day

M: daily task. If your bed is too complicated to make, make it easier by eliminated the pillows or sheets, etc.

A: Do it as soon as you get out of bed, before you brush your teeth.

R: Making your bed is a realistic goal. It keeps your room organized and gives you a clearer mind. Plus it is something that you can control (unless you have kids that tear up your bed... sorry)

T: This week. 5 days is how long it will take.

See! You can do it! Set your mind to it and allow the Lord to guide you! Start off small then gradually get more challenging. Pray over your goals and the process to achieve them and make sure they are led by God!

Have a great week and I’ll talk you guys later!

Byyyeee!!

~Meghan A. Harper

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page