top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

We Don't Take God That Seriously... (pt.1)


Hello again!

I hope everyone has been keeping up with their accountability partners and your New Year's resolutions are still going! SInce today is not only the last day of February, but it is also Leap Day, I want to introduce my blog series on taking God more seriously. I want to start talking about this today because it is an extra day of the year God has given us to "get right with Him" as people say. lol

We all know God is a loving and merciful God, but majority of the time we take that for granted. We have become too comfortable in our sin because we are used to God's forgiveness and nothing "bad" has happened. Through that comfort, we have even become blinded to our sin sometimes. Have we forgotten that the same God that heals and delivers us, is the same God who can whipe out the whole world with water if we continue to live against His word?

It wasn't until recently for that I realized I was just going through the motions of Christianity but not actually living fully to what God expects of me. Listening to certain songs and watching certain shows that aren't pleasing to God really hindered me from getting to know Him on a deeper and more intimate level. I was really convicted coming home from partying one Saturday night. Though I went to church the next morning, it didn't feel right. There was nothing I did in particuar that convicted but it was more so going out, drinking, listening to and singing along with provacative music, and then going to church like it was the normal thing to do. I could not continue living a double life and think it's okay because nothing "bad" has happened! I had to choose between what the world says is fine or what God has written. I was a "good person" according to worldly standards and even a "good Christian" to worldly Christian standards. To God's standards however, I looked just like the rest of the world and not His daughter. As a Christain, what are you glorifying that is goes against what God has said? Should we want to glorify things and live in a way that goes against what God stands for?

"Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night." Psalms 1:1-2

The biggest reality that no one wants to take seriously is that Jesus is coming back! If you were living as you normally do, and he came back today, would He be pleased? Would you be ashamed? Are you willing to let go of your life for the life God has called you to live? Don't let your arrogance get in the way of loving God. Our time on Earth is limited! We really don't know what tomorrow brings. So let's thank God for this extra day to get to know Him better, get closer to Him, and take Him more seriously!

Dear Lord,

Forgive us Lord for not taking you seriously. As Psalms 19:12 says, "But who can discern their own errors? Forgive my hidden faults." Please show us things in our life that hinder us from getting closesr to You and remove them immediately. Convict us if we are living opposite of Your will and Your word. Help us to take you more seriously and not to take You or the time we have let on earth for granted anymore. Thank you Lord! I love you!

In Jesus' name, AMEN!

If you have any questions, feel free to email me! Thank you!

Part 2 coming soon...


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page