top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

The Year Has Changed But Why Haven't I? (Part 2)


Welcome back to part 2 of this mini series!

I hope you all have been sticking to your New Year's resolutions! Last time I discussed how we can't change/stick to these resolutions because we really don't believe we have anything to change about ourselves. We need to ask God to soften our hearts so He can reveal to us ourselves and show us what we need to work on. Hopefully, we all have done that! Now step 2 does take a lot faith, trust, and LISTENING. It takes humbling yourself and releasing your pride. But most importantly, it takes being honest with yourself and able to receive advice and input from someone other than yourself. We MUST have an accountability partner!

Proverbs 27:17 states "As iron sharpens iron, one man sharpens another".

We were notcreated to do this alone. In order for us to improve on ourselves and grow as a person, we need others to help us along that journey. How are we able to see what we have done wrong if we don't allow others to speak into our lives and show us our wrongdoing?

The biggest thing I must stress is DO NOT confuse someone HOLDING you accountable with someone be JUDGEMENTAL! There are some people who are judgemental and don't really want you to change. But there are those who genuinely want to see you change and are willing to help you overcome those struggles and obstacles.

I have many people that hold me accountable in life, yet there is 1 person I really consider my accountability partner. I tell her EVERYTHING about my life: what I have done, how I feel, etc. She knows every detail about my life. Even details that I don't want to know about my life! Scary right?! I know! But this is a crucial step in making sure you are striving to become a better you and stick to your goals. It may take me a day or 2 to let her know when I have fallen short because of my own pride and shame but then she always reassures me that I will get through it. She always gives me scriptures to read and will pray with and for me. And I do the same for her! We are 100% honest! It can be scary but then it sooooo freeing!

James 5:16 states "...confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed."

If we want healing and deliverance we have to step out of our comfort zone and ask for help! Ask someone to help us through and be that constant person in this journey. I know it can be difficult to find that person, so I decided to leave a few notes on how to know someone is a good accountability partner/ how to find a good one!

1. Have they overcome what you are trying to overcome? (It can be hard to take advice from someone who has never experienced what you are going through or they are struggling with you. They can't really offer sound advice if they have not overcome what you're struggling in.)

2. Will they make sure to consistently ask you about your life, what you have done, if you have fallen or succeeded, etc.

3. Are they truly interested in your spiritual growth?

4. Are they honest with you?

5. Do they show you grace, love and encourage you when you fall?

6. Are they willing to pray with and for you?

Having accountability strengthens us to become more like Jesus. We are here to help guide one another and make sure we do not stumble and fall. "We ask you, brothers and sisters, to warn those who will not work. Encourage those who are afraid. Help those who are weak. Be patient with everyone" -1 Thessalonians 5:14. Like I have said before, it is impossilbe to do this life by ourselves. We have to allow someone to speak the truth to us so we can grow and stick to those New Year's resolutions! :-)

Below there is a link to a website that has 10 questions an accountability partner should ask you. These are some questions you can have your accountability partner ask you wach time you meet up or talk.

I really pray you all ask God to soften my heart so you can let go of your pride and tell someone what you are going through. I pray they are someone you can trust and will help you stick to God's word. If at the moment you do not have that person, I am more than willing to be that person for you. I promise everything said will be kept confidential! Just let me know!

Have a great rest of your week and see you soon!

http/www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/10-questions-for-your-christian-accountability-partner/

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page