top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan A. Harper

Touring Philly for Little to No Cost

Updated: Dec 9, 2019


The second weekend of November I was able to spend 4 days in the former capitol of the United States, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. My main reason for going was for the International ADHD conference, which I will make a separate post about. Philly is filled with such rich history and awesome tourism locations, I had to share it with y'all. Because I was there for a conference, my hotel stay was a little expensive, so I will not put that in the tour costs. Everything else I did that was little to no cost, I will put in here! I will be talking about these items in reference to City Hall.


1. Reading Terminal Market

Open Daily 8am-6pm

.3mile walk east from City Hall

Founded in 1893, it is one of the largest and oldest public markets in the United States. You can find a variety of award winning eateries, shops, and a mini famers market. To go inside is free, however, you do have to pay to eat. I was able to find a vegan deli that I went to for breakfast every morning!


2. Liberty Bell/Independence Park

Open Daily 9am-5pm

.9mil walk east of City Hall



To visit the infamous bell with the mysterious crack, it is free! No reservations necessary. I would say the best time to go is during the week or 9am when it opens up because the line to get in can get extremely long. As you make your way through the building, you are able to see the historical images of the bell throughout the years along with reading its deep meaning to the world.

In order to view Independence Hall, where the Declaration of Independence was signed, though it is free, you need to reserve a ticket early that morning. I was not able to get a ticket because I did not have a lot of time that day. It is definitely something to set aside 2 hours for to tour the entire park.

As you are exiting the park, there is a memorial to Black American life in Philadelphia and how the became free from slavery along with their contributions to the City of Brotherly Love in its earlier days.


3. National American Jewish Museum

500feet from Independence Park

.9 mil walk east of City Hall




Located right next door to Independence Park, you can tour the rich history of the immigration of Jews to the U.S. The museum is free to get in, unless you are visiting the featured exhibit. The museum takes you from the last 1600s to the present and encompasses the accomplishments and challenges Jewish people faced in America.


4. Love Park

.2 mil northwest of City Hall




Right across the street of City Hall you will find the infamous LOVE sign. Created in 1976, it has become an iconic staple of Philadelphia's "brotherly love" motto. Though it may not be the wisest decision, I decided to go at 10:30 at night in 40 degree weather but with a friend of mine. The best part about going at that time, there was no one there and I was able to get great shots of the sign without having to wait in a long line!



5. Philadelphia Magic Gardens

1 mil southeast of City Hall

Prices vary; adults $10/ticket.

Opened since 2008, this 30 minute tour of textiles and junkyard art is a great place for some amazing photos. I will say that because it is art, some of the images can be a little inappropriate (ie: cartoon nude drawings). I definitely did not know that those would be there, but they hide into the wall so it is not super noticeable.




For more information, CLICK HERE!


Honorable Mentions:

There are many other free or low cost attractions in Philadelphia, however, these are the ones I was able to visit. Some others include:


1. "Rocky Steps" located at the Philadelphia Art Museum from the infamous Rocky movie

1.8 mil from City Hall


2. Independence Hall

Located next to the Liberty Bell. Where the Declaration of Independence was signed


3. Old City

One of the first neighborhoods in America.

1.2 mil east of City Hall



Have a great day and I hope you all go visit this amazing city! Let me know some places you've visited in Philly!



BYYYEEE

~Meghan A. Harper



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page